Completing a year of grad school in London~

I went home to LA for two weeks at the end of June before my work placement began. There is nothing like returning home to help reflect on everything that has happened over the last few months. And over days of sunny patches, kareoke nights and burger eatings I thought about how nice it is to be home but also how much has happened since.

It seems like I have been in London for both a lifetime and a week and I still can’t believe I get to call it home. This last year has changed me so much more than I could have anticipated, most importantly by giving me the confidence and experience that I hoped for.

In a blog post from about a year ago (May 2014) I wrote that these were the goals that I wanted to attain from grad school:

1.) Develop specific skills and learn standard practices.

I have now created reports, pitched to clients, won a real-life brief and created campaigns from scratch- boom!

2.) Give me amazing network opportunities

Yup, I’ve met tons of alumni that are working in global agencies through out the world.

3.) Gain real-world experience

I’m working part-time at a branding agency and will hopefully do my work placement either there or at another agency.

I feel this program specifically has done all that I hoped it would. However, being in London has also given me some amazing opportunities to travel, access to larger networks and experience a new culture and life.

Who knows what will happen after my work placement and dissertation- or how that will even go. But the taught portion of my program was great and phew, its over haha.

How was the end of the semester for everyone else? Any summer plans?

Thanks for reading xx

Leave a comment